Ohio Allows for License To Carry Concealed Weapons

Effective April 8, 2004, it became possible to apply for a license to carry a concealed weapon in the State of Ohio.

Q.: What, exactly, does the law allow?

A.: The law allows an individual to carry a handgun in a holster on his or her person in plain sight.  It also permits the person to keep a weapon locked in a glove compartment or locked in a transport box in plain sight.  The law also requires that, if a person is carrying a concealed weapon inside a motor vehicle, and if that person is stopped by a law enforcement officer, the person must immediately tell the officer that he or she has a license to carry a concealed weapon, and that a weapon is in the vehicle.

Q.: Are there places where a person may not carry a concealed weapon, even with a license?

A.: Yes.  The license does not authorize an individual to carry a concealed weapon to:  a police station; a state, county or federal correctional institution; an airport passenger terminal; a school; a courthouse; a public or private college; a house of worship; a daycare center; any local, state or federal government building; an establishment that sells alcohol for consumption on the premises.

Q.: What must I do to get a license to carry a concealed weapon?

A.: First, you must complete a 12-hour firearm safety class that includes two hours of actual firing range training as well as a written and a physical test before you can file an application.  The class must be given by a licensed instructor and approved by the Ohio Attorney General.
Next, you must get an application from the county sheriff’s department and submit your completed application to the county sheriff’s department along with:
1) a photo ID taken within 30 days;
2) an original or photocopy of a Certificate of Completion of the firearm safety class;
3) proof that you have read the Ohio pamphlet relating to use of deadly force.
You must also provide fingerprints, which will be taken at the sheriff’s department.

Q.: How much does it cost to get a license?

A.: You must pay a $45 application fee plus the cost of a federal criminal record background check and the cost of the firearm safety class.

Q.: How long must I wait to get a license?

A.: The sheriff must issue or deny your permit within 45 days.  If a permit is issued, you will receive a license, which you must carry with you whenever you possess a concealed weapon.

The information contained herein is general and should not be applied to specific legal problems without first consulting with one of our attorneys.

 
tab_whatyoushouldknow
form_tab_blue
©2014 Kirby, Thomas & Brandenburg, L.P.A.
Disclaimer
Law Firm Website by The Modern Firm